What can we help you find?

CFU Exterior

Board Members

To contact a CFU board member call 319-268-5351 during weekday business hours or email cfu@cfunet.net

Deb Iehl

Deb Iehl, Chair

September 2019 - Present

Deb Iehl is co-owner of Agape Therapy. As a physical therapist, she shares her passion for the field with preschool through college-aged area students and has volunteered professionally in Asia, Europe and Central America. She has also served in leadership roles with industry trade organizations. Deb is a long-time resident of Cedar Falls. Her love for the community extends to local volunteer service including Boy Scouts, youth sports, Mothers of Preschoolers International and her church.

Richard L. McAlister

Richard L. McAlister, Vice Chair

September 2016 - Present

Richard McAlister is a retired Cedar Falls City Administrator and has been a Cedar Falls resident since 1975. He served in a leadership role with the City of Cedar Falls from 1975 to 2016. He was a member of the Citizens Wired for the Future Committee that led the effort to organize the CFU Communications Utility

Jeff Engel

Jeff Engel, Secretary

March 2014 - Present

Jeff Engel is the owner and President of Foster’s Inc. and is a Cedar Falls native. Jeff has been a leader in trade associations and his local community service also includes terms on the St. Patrick Church Board of Education and the Board of the Archdiocese of Dubuque School Tuition Organization.

Leslie J. Prideaux

Leslie J. Prideaux

September 2021 - Present

Leslie Prideaux serves as the Assistant Vice President for Alumni Relations at the University of Northern Iowa. As a Cedar Valley native, Leslie has dedicated much of her free time in service to bettering the community. She served as the treasurer for Grow Cedar Valley, Chair for the Cedar Falls Visitor and Tourism Bureau, and as a Planning and Zoning Commissioner. Leslie also serves as a coach and team manager for her daughters' softball and soccer teams. Leslie earned her Bachelor of Arts in English, History, Mass Communication and Journalism from the University of Iowa. She earned her Masters of Arts in Higher Education and Student Affairs from the University of Iowa in and her PhD from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

MaraBeth Soneson

MaraBeth Soneson

September 2012 - Present

MaraBeth Soneson is a retired VP of WebMD/Emdeon and retired owner of Acorn Advisors, LLC. MaraBeth is a long-time resident of Cedar Falls. She is the former Executive Director of Cedar Falls Community Main Street, and previously a VP at WebMD/Emdeon. She was a member of the CF Vision 2020 Strategic Planning Group and Co-Chair of the Healthier Cedar Falls Task Force/Blue Zones.

John C. Larsen

John C. Larsen, Board of Trustees Counsel 

June 1988 - Present 

John Larsen was named as only the second attorney to the CFU Board of Trustees in May 1988. John was born in Cedar Falls and has practiced law in Cedar Falls since 1978. John holds a B.A. degree from Wartburg College and a law degree from the University of Iowa. John is a partner in the law firm Redfern, Mason, Larsen & Moore. He is actively involved in the community and currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Cedar Falls Community Schools Foundation and the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa. John provided legal guidance during the formation and operation of the CFU Communications Utility.